ArnoCorps in Brighton, 2012

As this year will be my fourth time on the road with ArnoCorps, I’ve recently been thinking back to the first time I ever met them and the lead up to what took me there. I always loved photographing live shows, and by that point I’d been doing it for a few years, but I wanted to take it a step further and photograph exciting bands that I was a big fan of. I’d seen ArnoCorps perform in 2010 in Glasgow (at the Soundhaus, R.I.P) and was blown away by the energy and enthusiasm not only of the band, but of the entire room. I left the show feel euphoric, covered in sweat and face paint, and really was buzzing for a good few days after.

So jump forward to 2012. I’ve started studying photography and attending a lot of shows with my camera. ArnoCorps announced a UK tour and I thought that I should definitely try to get a photo pass for the Glasgow date, but the longer I thought about it, I more I got carried away thinking that there would be an amazing opportunity to create a photo project on the whole tour.

I got in touch with the guys and after chatting, I was good to come along to the shows! I made the horrible 8 hour overnight bus journey down to London the night before, and from there jumped on a train to Brighton (where I almost slept through the stop) to meet the guys at the first show of the tour. I walked in during the sound check and shortly after we made our introductions. I took my camera out almost instantly and right away we hit it off. It was a nerve-racking feeling, to be relatively inexperienced and about to embark on a trip with a van full of complete strangers, but within the first 20 minutes of meeting everyone, I knew it was going to be a fun ride.

The show was a blast, and afterwards we hit the nightclub downstairs to celebrate the first night of the tour. I danced so har the sole came off my shoe and I had to use duct tape to hold it together for a few days before I could pick up a cheap pair. Fun times! There was also a hen party walking by as we loaded up the van, all dressed up in superhero costumes. That was definately not an oppertunity I was going to miss to take some snaps.

So here’s a couple of shots from my first ever night meeting the guys I now count as some of my good friends. I thought I’d try something different and give them a black and white edit to give them a bit more of a raw feel to them. I’ll be hitting the road again with the guys this summer, so check out their Facebook for tour dates around the UK!

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (2 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (3 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (5 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (6 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (7 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (8 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (9 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (10 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (11 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (12 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (13 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (14 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (15 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (16 of 17)

Arnoblog - June 30, 2012 (17 of 17)

Neil Jarvie

Freelance photographer based in Glasgow, Scotland.

Submit a comment

